I could have linked today’s Golden Age comic story to historic or current events in at least a half-dozen different ways. I could have – but I didn’t, because sometimes you just have to let a cool comic book story be exactly what it is. Every so often I come across a story or character whose fundamental concept is so weird, twisted, and totally wrong that it makes the end result completely awesome. This is one of those stories. Between the name of the character and the splash panel’s text I was hooked so hard that there was no way I could not have finished reading this story, and by the time I got to the end my “inner eight year old” was very pleased.

As always, right-click a pic and open it in a new tab for a larger view.

Thanks to The Digital Comic Museum for preserving this comic!

Lightning Comics, Vol. 2 #1 (June 1941)

Lightning Comics, Vol. 2 #1 (June 1941)

Lightning Comics, Vol. 2 #1 (June 1941)

Lightning Comics, Vol. 2 #1 (June 1941)

Lightning Comics, Vol. 2 #1 (June 1941)

Lightning Comics, Vol. 2 #1 (June 1941)

Lightning Comics, Vol. 2 #1 (June 1941)

Lightning Comics, Vol. 2 #1 (June 1941)

Have fun! — Steve

Copyright 2012, Steven A. Lopez. All rights reserved.

