October’s definitely my favorite month. The air gets crisp, the leaves change color, Major League Soccer clubs are in hot competition for playoff berths, and of course there’s Halloween. This October Steve Lopez’s Big Blog o’Fun, now just over two years old, will finally hit the two hundred post milestone. Recently I’ve been getting a lot of great feedback from you in the form of comments, “Likes”, recommendations on other blogs, mentions on message boards, and comments/shares/Likes on my Facebook page, and that’s all greatly appreciated.

This October I wanted to do a little thing to celebrate my favorite month as well as to thank you for visiting my twisted little corner of the Interwebs, just something cool to let you know that I appreciate you stopping by. So I hereby declare the coming month to be BONUS BATTLE OCTOBER!

In addition to my regular posts about war-era comics, each Tuesday in October the Big Blog o’Fun will also present a different chapter from a legendary five-part Golden Age comic series first published in the pages of Silver Streak Comics in 1941, a series which turned one of my favorite 1940’s comic book heroes from a second-stringer into a comics legend. It’s cool, it’s exciting, and it’s a series which every fan of Golden Age comics ought to read at least once. I’m speaking, of course, about the famous, epic battle called “Daredevil vs. the Claw”, an action-packed confrontation that had kids all a-buzz and a-twitter throughout the first half of 1941. It was one of the first “hero vs. villain” rivalries in comics history and was definitely a huge success – based on the sales figures of the five comics in which “Daredevil vs. The Claw” appeared, Daredevil was promoted to headliner status and became the star of his own book throughout the remainder of the decade.

Daredevil battles The Claw in Silver Streak Comics #8, March 1941

So please accept my thanks for visiting my blog and enjoy BONUS BATTLE OCTOBER, beginning this Tuesday and appearing every Tuesday throughout the month right here in the Big Blog o’Fun!

Have fun! — Steve

Copyright 2012, Steven A. Lopez. All rights reserved.

